Fashion Blog site about my line & opinions

L’Histoire de Mode~Harem Pants

Harem Pants:

Harem trousers are women’s baggy long pants tapered

at the ankle, with side flaps on the hip that button at the waist area.

Harem pants, which originated in India, are like a cross between

a skirt and a pair of skinny jeans. The legs, from the knees down,

are fitted. The crotch area is loose and baggy as if it were cut to be

a skirt. Traditional harem pants can be extremely large and baggy,

with a very wide and full fit, very roomy, loose fitting, oversized,

puffy, spacious, with elastic in waist and at ankles, and with the

crotch below the knee almost to the ground. Harem pants are

commonly worn with a pleated skirt – a short skirt that covers

the top portion of the harem pants. Both harem pants and pleated

skirts are commonly used in belly dancing. There are resources

that show various forms of pleated skirts and explain how they are created.

They’ve also emerged as a “modern” version of harem pants made

popular in the late 1980s with MC Hammer. They are intended to be made

more fashionable and less fabric requirement. Similar pants are also known

as dimije, tshalvar, schalwar, salwar kameez, kaccha, patiala salwar,

shintijan, sirwal, sharovary, Turkish trousers, aladdin pants, balloon pants,

drop crotch pants, pantaloons, zouave, pluderhose and pumphose.

Samples:

Also called “diaper pants,” “genie pants” or “Aladdin pants.”

 

Fall 09 Balmain

22 responses

  1. I love the the harem pants in the second picture (the one that only shows the legs)!
    Thanks for an intensive history of harem pants, interesting post. 🙂

    January 29, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    • Hey thanks for coming to the page! Yeah I like those too but I do believe the first one is my favorite it’s easy to go form day to night in this one & the draping ads to the beauty of it all….I tell you mix cultures together & BOOM!! Awesomeness happens,great fashion.

      How did you find me? I’m curious.
      Hope you follow us, there’s something new everyday & I’m adding an extra category LoL NYC daily fashion.

      January 29, 2011 at 6:38 pm

  2. I just blogged about pants.. and how I hate them. lol and I landed on your page. Maybe I’ll give this one a try!

    September 9, 2011 at 10:28 am

    • You totally shoulde Fluffy, they compliment so many different body types. However, they don’t-I repeat DON’T look good on everybody. LoL
      So be careful. Don’t want you going out looking like you pooped your pants, esp if you’re bootylicious LoL

      September 13, 2011 at 2:29 pm

  3. Jhona

    not fan or Harem Pants! but enjoying wearing one!!! lol!!!

    September 9, 2011 at 12:12 pm

  4. DANIELLE

    WHERE CAN I GET THE EXACT PAIR OR SUM JUST LIKE THE SECOND PIC? I HAVE BEEN LOOKING ALL OVER AND NO ONE SEEM TO HAVE NE LIKE THOSE

    May 17, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    • have you tried balmain? The ones with the 3/4 length legs, right?

      June 2, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    • rashidajohnson

      I love the modern twist on the harem pant!!!! Thanks for sharing the history. I am in the market for a pair especially when I saw Jada Pinkett Smith rocking an out-cold pair!!! i have a show Saturday night and living in Michigan, it’s very difficult to find EXACTLY what I want. (LOVING the 2nd pair – which happen to be EAXCTLY what I want-lol) The first is nice too- but I have to cover up my post-preggers belly)-lol Note to self: should have listened when granny tried to teach me to SEW. I could just make what I can’t find.

      August 16, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      • 1930bychrisjackson

        LoL I know I caved into my granny teaching me & L-O-V-E-D it!!

        If you every need anything made, just let me know!!
        What part of Michigan are you from I have tons of relatives in Flint, Cadillac, & Detroit!
        I’m originally from Gary, IN, btw. haha

        October 8, 2012 at 4:45 pm

  5. Tiffe

    Finally, someone that understands my style. Thank you for the History. I would so totally wear each of these all year round. I was so excited to see 2012 Fashion Star Kara Laricks rockin the Harem Pants! And by the way, I have so much family that live in East Chicago IN, and Gary IN.. Love that town~

    October 18, 2012 at 12:15 pm

  6. Katrina

    The 2nd picture I want those pants any idea where I can get them and how much??

    March 17, 2013 at 7:49 pm

  7. Hey there! I’ve been following your site for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

    May 3, 2013 at 12:08 am

    • Awe, thanks sweetie! Stay tuned, I’ll be adding new content soon!
      Sign up for email subscriptions & you’ll get first dibs on my new personal collection designed by me! For 1930by ChrisJackson!!

      June 11, 2013 at 12:10 am

  8. Amazing! Its truly amazing piece of writing, I have got
    much clear idea regarding from this post.

    June 24, 2013 at 9:40 pm

  9. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?

    Outstanding work!

    July 3, 2013 at 7:37 am

    • Thank you very much!! Everything I did myself. I’m constantly on a penny budget, so I figure it out & do it.

      August 10, 2013 at 3:15 pm

  10. The second ones are glamourous, but I don’t see them that much anymore. It seems that there is a new trend with bigger Thai style harem pants worn as yoga wear or just pajamas. Something like this http://www.etsy.com/listing/156676804

    August 3, 2013 at 2:17 am

    • Totally!! I’m mean if anything they are over exaggerating the shape of the pant.

      Lol bigger must be better

      August 10, 2013 at 3:16 pm

  11. I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and
    exposure! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve incorporated you
    guys to my blogroll.

    October 8, 2013 at 2:28 am

  12. Pingback: The Classics | A WordPress Site

  13. Deborah Bloodworth

    I like harem pants and would like to purchase various styles of these pants.

    October 5, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

